Stephanie Peay v2.0

The official blog of Stephanie Peay

New Years Resolutions and Goals… 2009

with 5 comments

There are exactly six weeks left in 2009. I hadn’t thought much about it until I read a blog post by Shae Bynes about what she’ll be focusing on for the rest of the year. Far too often I postpone starting the things that will get me what I want.

Overeating during one meal turns into a week of bad food choices, and I’m always telling myself I’ll start my diet again next week. I silently promise myself that I’m going to go back to church, every week, but I stay up uber late sunday morning. I want to track my spending and most of the time I’m unsuccessful, but sometimes I don’t record a few cash purchases. I convice myself that I’ll figure it out later. And the list goes on.

It’s so easy to get distracted and off course, especially when you don’t know what you want to accomplish. It’s even eaiser to tell yourself that there’s still time to get the desired result later, always later. However, I really want to end 2009 with a bang! There’s still enough time to achieve some of my short-term goals and make significant progress toward some of my long-term goals.

So, like Shae, I’m going to “focus [my] self-discipline on a single purpose.” (Quote from Dan Kennedy’s book “No B.S. Time Management For Entrepreneurs“) I’m actually going to choose a few single purposes to work on:

  • Real Estate  –  Close my first real estate deal!!!
  • Social Media/Web 2.0 – Write at least 1 blog post per week
  • Health – lose 15 pounds
  • Family & Friends – Finally send thank you cards to everyone who attended my bday party in April (I know – it’s horrible)
  • Relationship with God – attend church every sunday for the rest of the year
  • Personal Finance – track all spending, create new personal financial statements
  • Service – volunteer at Open Hand for at least 20 hours

I’m sure these goals will keep me busy for the next six weeks and will help me move toward my long term goals. Thank you Shae, for the inspiration to pursue my goals with a laser-like focus.  I hope you will take the opportunity to map out the things you want to achieve over the next six weeks too.

Don’t forget to tell me how it goes, okay!?

Written by Stephanie Peay

November 19, 2009 at 5:19 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. After some research I found out that more than 75% of people who set New Year’s resolutions will break them within 3 months and almost one-third will break them by the end of January? Whether your goal is to stop smoking, lose weight, get in shape, break bad habits, pay off debt, or find true love; most people end up being another statistic.
    Register today for the FREE New Years Resolution Extreme Makeover Telesummit at: http://www.mynewyearsresolutionsextrememakeover.com/

    Shaun

    November 19, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    • Shaun,

      Thank you for the comment! Also, thank you for sharing the link to the webinars on making New Years Resolutions. Have you achieved any of your 2009 goals? Are you ready for 2010?

      Stephanie Peay

      Stephanie

      November 19, 2009 at 11:54 pm

  2. Hey Stephanie, thanks for the shoutout and glad my post got you thinking about what to get done for the rest of the year.

    Just an observation….take it for what its worth…

    You have a LOT of things written down here to accomplish by end of the year. I don’t know how much of this is NEW activity/habits vs. continuing what you’re already doing (e.g. the personal finance, service, health items) but it seems like a lot of new habits and stuff to focus on in a mere 6 weeks.

    If this list doesn’t make you feel overwhelmed, I say go for it! But it if feels a bit daunting (feels daunting for me but its not my list!), I’d consider focusing on just a few of them.

    Go get ’em!

    Shae

    November 20, 2009 at 9:49 am

    • Hi Shae,

      Thanks for the suggestions! I actually do think there are a lot of things on the list, it may be too much to complete by the end of the year. I just decided that I want to try to stretch myself during the last few weeks of 2009. I also want to have more balance in my life so I don’t want to focus on one thing to the detriment of others. However, I think I will postpone my social media, volunteering, and real estate goal until the end of the year. Then I’ll have more time and energy to really make the other goals happen. What do you think? Good idea?

      Stephanie

      November 21, 2009 at 5:15 pm

  3. Thank you for your comment, I really appreciate the feedback! Also, it’s so sweet of you to say that this is one of your favorite sites, I hope your friends enjoy the blog too.
    Is there anything that you would like me to write more, or less, about? I’m open to suggestions!!! Merry CHRISTmas! 😀

    Stephanie Peay

    December 21, 2009 at 1:34 am


Leave a Reply

