Stephanie Peay v2.0

The official blog of Stephanie Peay

My Journey to Number 1 on Google.com

with 5 comments

I Am Not An Ecologist!

I remember a time, not to long ago, when I first searched my name in google. If you’re honest, you’ll admit that you do the same thing from time to time. It didn’t really matter to me at the time that I was basically no where to be found. I think there may have been a page with my name on it a few dozen pages in. (Yes I kept looking through more pages until I found something). It was a bit disappointing, but not a big deal. I did learn that there was another Stephanie Peay. Apparently, she is a well respected Ecologist in Britain. I was okay with her taking the top spot on all of the search engines, until the first time I saw a link to something about myself on the on the first page of Google.

It seems that Google like’s putting facebook profiles on the first page of search results for people, when that applies. There I was, my name and a link to my facebook profile, on page one of a Google search for my name. It was nice. I had my own space in the internet and Google actually recognized it! I must admit, from that point on I wasn’t so content with my Ecologist namesake taking up so much space. I think my LinkedIn profile was the next link to make it on the top page, followed by my twitter account. Ever since those links made it to the first page, and the link to my facebook profile made it to the number one spot, I was determined to take over the whole first page. I still have a long way to go, but it’s been a fun journey.

I’ve had the chance to connect with people from so many different area’s of my life on Facebook. I’m friends with sorority sisters, people I know from church, people that I knew from college, and I’ve even reconnected with people from as far back as middle school. I have quite a following on twitter and I even created a Google profile for myself that’s on the first page too. I haven’t done a whole lot to my LinkedIn profile yet, but it’s been nice to have a professional face on the web that’s been indexed by Google too.

I wish I could offer you sound, sage advice for how to take over the first page of Google, but I’m still learning just like you. I do know that Google seems to like social networking sites, videos, and pages that have been on the web for a long time tend to have a higher rank than those that don’t. Although “Stephanie 2.0” hasn’t graced the first page of Google, yet, blogs are also likely to appear on the first page of a search too.

The search engine’s algorithm seems to like content that’s updated on a regular basis. (That’s probably why so many social networking sites are ranked so high). Apparently, the search engine’s “spiders” crawl the internet on a regular basis looking for new content to index. Therefore, if you have a blog where you post new content on a regular basis, you’ll likely have another page that will make it to the top page of a search for your name. It also helps when you post comments on other people’s blogs. Those pages have appeared in the search terms for my name as well.

I haven’t mastered the art of getting business sites to the top of search results, but as soon as I figure that out I’ll let you know! However, the journey to put the world on  notice that there are other Stephanie Peay’s in the world, besides “The Ecologist” as I refer to her now, has been fun. I check Google every once in a while to see what appears on the first page and it’s fun to see that I’m truly making my mark. I hope this article helps you do the same.

Stephanie Peay

By the way… I have nothing against any of my namesakes. (Yes, there are others). Especially, Ecologist Stephanie Peay! You’re braver than I am. I couldn’t fathom a career working with crayfish, they look really creepy!!!

Written by Stephanie Peay

October 17, 2009 at 5:47 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That was a hilarious post 🙂 I google myself probably once every month or two…in fact I have to google 2 names because I use two different names (my given name and my nickname) and have two different “online images” to keep up with. I think its really important to know what your online profile is.

    As far as ranking high on google, I really think the key is backlinks from high authority (high page rank) websites and also having multiple web 2.0 site pages and article sites (Squidoo, Hubpages, ezine, goarticles, Scribd, etc). Having a wordpress site that is frequently updated and uses your keywords is a plus too.

    Shae

    October 18, 2009 at 7:48 am

    • Shae,

      I’m glad I made you laugh a bit. That’s pretty cool that Google has your nickname and real name indexed, but now I’m wondering which one Shae is. 🙂

      Thanks for the extra input and suggestions about how to rank high on a Google search. I haven’t tried the article sites you mentioned yet. I’m going to have to work my way up to that.

      In the meantime, it’s been sooo much fun seeing my other web 2.0 sites appear on Google! 😀

      Stephanie

      Stephanie

      October 18, 2009 at 3:36 pm

  2. […] My Journey to Number 1 on Google.com « Stephanie 2.0 stephaniepeay.wordpress.com/2009/10/17/number-1-on-google – view page – cached I remember a time, not to long ago, when I first searched my name in google. If you’re honest, you’ll admit that you do the same thing from time to time. — From the page […]

  3. I think we’ve all googled our names. Apparently for me, there is a professional baseball player that gets talked about a lot so put simply, He’s going to keep the top spot for some time, especially considering I have a generic and common name.

    Either way, great job on getting ‘google-fied’ You’re official now

    Nick@Subject2.com

    December 21, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    • Maybe your baseball player namesake will retire soon & you’ll knock him down a few pegs. LOL

      Stephanie Peay

      December 29, 2009 at 4:43 am


Leave a Reply

